THE RDRC Background

The Rwanda Demobilisation and Reintegration Commission (RDRC), was formed in January 1997 as an autonomous Government Commission, and was formally established in the year 2002 by a Presidential decree No 37/01 of 09/04/2002.

It is charged with planning and implementing the Rwanda Demobilisation and Reintegration Programme for the  ex-combatants.

The Commission is composed of 5 Commissioners including the Chairman.

A Technical Secretariat (TS), headed by a Programme Coordinator, assists the Commission to implement the programme, and has five departments, namely: Operations, Finance, Human Resources and Administration,  Procurement and Monitoring and Evaluation.